Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Legality of This...if any

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

Legality of This...if any

So a pt called in and "doesnt want a copy of her expired prescription" but wants me to read it off to her. The prescription is for contacts and expired 04/2010 and ORIGINALLY SHE WAS A WALK IN RX.

Under these circumstances and because she pulled the "im a lawyer are you refusing to give me my medical information" am i required to TELL her whats on the prescription or is the a law that prohibits me from "reading her a copy" of the RX she brought in that our doctor did not write?

Thanks

Occupation
    I would imagine it depends of the State Laws, but personally I would not do it.

OptiBoard Administrator
    ----
    OptiBoard has been proudly serving the Eyecare Community since 1995.

Occupation
    thanks steve

she just really chapped my hide by pulling the lawyer card and threatening to report me. I tried explaining: 1. the rx is expired and 2. our doctor did not write it and she should call the dr's office who wrote it and maybe he/she could give her the info she needs.

but i was wondering if there are any laws regarding this type of matter in the State of Texas. Im googling but still havent found. thanks again.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    If your office was not the prescribing office she might have already called the prescribing one and was refused the information due to the age of the rx. Pulling her lawyer card was meant to intimidate you and it probably works for her in other cases. Good for you for standing your ground!

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Wake up!!