Thread: Consumer Question - Help

OptiBoard Novice

Consumer Question - Help

Hello I am not sure if you can help or not but I thought I would give it a shot.

Let me describe the situation- I have been wearing contacts for 10+ years for the last 4 years I have worn Focus night & days because they are the most comfortable contacts that I have ever had. I do not wear these contacts to sleep in I just like that they are so comfortable. I have my eyes checked regularly and I have never had a problem. I have not ordered contacts over the internet for over two years so I was not aware that the law had changed. I usually will buy them at my doctors unless they are way over priced.

This year I got new insurance & had to visit a different doctor. The only place close for me to go that was covered under my insurance was Wal-Mart’s Vision. When I went there to get my exam I brought my box of Focus Night & Days with me (I have one sealed contact for each eye left). I wore my Focus contacts to the eye exam & also brought my glasses with me. I asked the doctor if my insurance would allow my to pay the difference between the daily wear contacts that they would cover & my preferred Focus contacts & he said no. No big deal I told him that I would get the contacts that the insurance covered but I would also like to order my Focus contacts. He said no problem my eyes looked very healthy & all my tests were good. The daily wear contacts that he prescribed were Cooper Silver 7 - I thought since my insurance would pay for them I would just get them (never hurts to have a backup in a emergency). When he went to ring everything up I asked him how much the Focus lens would be & they were WAY over priced!! I said I think I'll just let you order me the ones that the insurance covers & I'll purchase my Focus contacts online. He said that was fine that was my choice. When I went to leave he handed me a prescription - for Cooper Silver 7