Thread: Practice Management Software

Bad address email on file

Wave Practice Management Software

I am a computer tech for a rather large optometry office. I have been frustrated for years because we remain using Office Mate Dos. I kept pushing for Windows 2000 and then XP, but the Dos software only worked on Windows 98. The OD refused to upgrade to the Windows version of Office Mate because of the terrible Medical Records and its bad track record. We kept waiting for the exam writer for Office Mate Windows to be bug free or the price for many software titles to become more affordable.

Someone heard our cry because we recently found Insight Practice Management. They are basically an Office Mate Dos comparable system on steriods. Everything from customizable medical records to a complete transaction history.

You'll have to take a look at it yourself to see.
    I am slightly biased though. One of the designers of the software worked in my old office as a tech for a couple years and gave me a heads up on thier products release. I made sure the OD had one of the first demos.

Good luck to them and you should check it out.
    www.insightpm.com

Ophthalmic Optician
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I checked out the link and it seems to offer everything an office could want. I noticed that the tech support is $800 per year. Why, if a program is so easy to use, (not just this program, but most others) do they charge so much for tech support?

Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer
    Most software companies that sell non-consumer software charge yearly support costs in the neighborhood of 15% of the purchase price. That covers tech support, new features, new operating system support, testing, etc. Face it, the market for optical practice management software is pretty limited, and these companies are not exactly swimming in money. If they were, we'd see Microsoft Practice Management pretty quickly.