Thread: Manual Refraction

Bad address email on file

Thumbs up Manual Refraction

Friends,

This is my happiest moment joining three O's party,Hi all!

I am studying manual refraction and always get difficulty locating correct axis. Any hints will be very much appreciated.

Good wishes,
    Deepak

Hello Deepak,
    Get this small book called MONOCULAR SUBJECTIVE REFRACTION by Freeman. You can this from ABDO bookshop.
    I hope this will answer your questions.
    Regards,
    Optom

OptiWizard
    If you really want to learn to how to narrow down your axis. Learn to do retinoscopy before you start the refraction. This should give you a good starting point to refine the refraction.

Thumbs up Thanks All!

Optom
    Thanks for directing on right book,that is what I needed.

Stopper
    I do not learn retinoscopy at the moment,noted your hint.

Harry Jilson

My appreciation and gratitude for your warm welocome mail.

Deepak
    Dispening in UK;)

Post try staenopic slit

Hello Deepak,

I guess you mean locating axis using trial & error method of subjective refraction. Use astigmatic fan & block chart. It is best way for subjective assessment of astigmatic cases of refraction. You can also do manual refraction with staenopic slit. Staenopic slit is an opaque disc with 1 mm thick slit running across the center. It can be found in your trial lens set or phoropter head.
    Do as follows:
    1) Take patient’s PD, center trial frame to the measurement and direct patient to Snellen chart.
    2) Insert slit in right eye cell of frame and block the left eye.