Thread: Your pride

Occupation
    Optometrist

Your pride

Last week I had a repeat visit from a nice patient who appreciates artistic eye wear (and a good optometrist!).

She had been going to a boutique-type optical run by a well-known (but not well-liked within the optical community, but I digress) Baroness of Boutique Eyewear in our metropolitan area and purchasing her frames from the Baroness' really, really trendy collection.

The patient has a Lafont and another I've-never-heard-of-the-designer frenchy frame with rhinestones and whatnot, and she needs new lenses.

Now, as you know, ain't no-one that does lenses better than DRK (which is ZERO investment...I'm a designer/supplier). But DRK has...ahem...pedestrian tastes...STRIKE THAT!! DRK's PATIENT BASE has pedestrian tastes in frames*. (See the "Rebirth" thread for evidence of this.)

So, the Baroness has retired to Bahamas, or something. And the nice patient wants a referral to another boutique. So I refer to a really cool big-time optical in the swankiest area of town, and I thought I'd call them to be sure they have Lafont.

"Hi, this is DRK and I'm asking for a patient...do you have french frames like, Lafont or Alain Mikli or Phillipe Starck?"
    " <dismissive snooty laugh> Of course"
    "Um, thanks. I have a patient for you."

My patient was pleased. Then I returned to my optical full of mainline vendors. I was ashamed for the rest of the day. "Sure must be nice to work with all those high-end frames" I brooded.

I used to have Lafont. It bombed. I used to have Ogi. It was niche. I have Silhouette, at least. I have ProDesign.

Question: Do YOU have a frame line that makes you proud to be an optical? NO, NOT FLEXON! No, not Kate Spade! Something special?

My bruised ego says I need something special.