Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Lensometer Question

  1. #1
    Bad address email on file
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    MN
    Occupation
    Optical Retail
    Posts
    66

    Lensometer Question

    We have a Topcon LM-6E lensometer and it is not working properly. The bulb is new, however, the sphere and cylinder lines are not visible. Any suggestions on what may be the problem?

  2. #2
    Master OptiBoarder Joann Raytar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    USA
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    4,948
    If nothing is blocking things from the front, check the light filter. There is a lever that switches between green and orange light filters located right behind the axis wheel on the right hand side. Also open up the bulb compartment and make sure that the assembly that holds the filter hasn't come loose blocking the lightsource.

  3. #3
    Bad address email on file
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    MN
    Occupation
    Optical Retail
    Posts
    66
    Thanks for the info Jo. I have checked all of those things and they are all working.

  4. #4
    Ophthalmic Optician
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    USSA
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    12,592
    Bandk:

    You mentioned that the bulb is new, but does it work? Is there a light source ? If so, do like Jo suggested, and "follow" the light to see what is blocking it. If not, work backwards to the power supply.

  5. #5
    OptiWizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    301
    This may be stupid and obvious but make sure the marking pins are not in the way. Done it myself a few times.

  6. #6
    Master OptiBoarder LENNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    BROOKLYNSK, NY USA
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    4,340

    Stopper

    You are the best!:bbg:

  7. #7
    OptiBoard Novice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Occupation
    Ophthalmic Technician
    Posts
    2

    lensometer topcon lm 6e

    any tips for calibrating a topcon lensometer model lm 6e?

  8. #8
    Master OptiBoarder mike.elmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    edmonton,alberta, Canada
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    537
    I bet if you check the prism adjustment nob that it has been moved in such a way that the target is displaced more than 5 diopters......return it to the zero prism position and it will work. It happened to me once......

  9. #9
    Master OptiBoarder mike.elmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    edmonton,alberta, Canada
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    537
    Holy crud.....this thread was 3 years old....I guess they figured it out by now:D

  10. #10
    OptiBoard Novice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Occupation
    Ophthalmic Technician
    Posts
    2

    lensometer

    thanks I think thats what it was ...back to zero and working fine

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help!!!!Nikon lensometer
    By sparky in forum Ophthalmic Optics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 08:32 PM
  2. For Sale----Humphrey 350 Auto Lensometer
    By myeyeequipment.com in forum Optical Marketplace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2002, 10:02 PM
  3. a simple question
    By optispares in forum General Optics and Eyecare Discussion Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-20-2002, 09:19 PM
  4. Starting the New Year right......with a question!
    By hcjilson in forum Ophthalmic Optics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2002, 09:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •