Thread: Best lens type/technology for this complicated RX?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Retail

Best lens type/technology for this complicated RX?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	current p.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	56.8 KB 
ID:	14555

Distance acuity R 6/7.5- L6/7.5-

What in your opinion would provide the most crisp and optimized vision for this RX, I was thinking a free form lens with a high index such as a Zeiss Individual Lens, I have never tried a free form lens before, does anyone have much experience with prescribing them to customers?

The main issue with this RX being vision when reading text in the distance such as a car number plate at 17M+ becomes very distorted, although from the opticians room results (distance acuity) at this distance, this should not be an issue.

When attempting to read a number plate after 17 Meters, the numbers become fuzzy, unfocused, too small, M's look like W's, D's look like 0's, X's look like K's..

Zeiss claim on their website their lenses are able to maintain a more focused, sharp and crisp vision, however there does not seem to be many reviews of the Zeiss Individual Lens out there.

What Index and material is also likely to best suit this RX? Also would contact lenses be a better option to possibly provide better vision to completely reduce any distortion created by the magnification/minification effect?.

Thanks
    Last edited by lionz21; 01-12-2020 at 08:42 PM.

Occupation
    Optometrist
    Question, Lion.

How do you know that this patient is going to have problems seeing at 17 meters (odd distance, that)?

Did the patient tell you in that he's filled this very same Rx, and had problems explicitly saying "M's look like W's, etc.", and now he's coming to you for a remake?

What in particular makes this a complicated Rx?

I'm worried that you may be a Do-it-yourselfer?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Retail
    Quote Originally Posted by drk View Post
    Question, Lion.