Thread: Need help with a patient complaint

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Confused Need help with a patient complaint

Hello,

I am a newbie in the field and having a difficult time with patient troubleshooting.
    It is a little long, but bear with me please.

Here is the patient's prescription:

OD: +0.50 -0.25 *178 add +1.50

When she walked in a couple days ago, she was already wearing progressive lenses.
    She brought her own frames and wanted to put in just a new pair of lens since it's been scratched.
    After inspecting, I found they were generic lenses made from a company in California.
    I asked her how much she got it for, and she said for around $200ish.
    (Not sure on this information, I can only go by whatever information she tells me)
    Also after talking to her about her specific need for the glasses/price/etc,
    we agree on a progressive lens (also a generic one from the company I use, but it is decent quality).
    She drops off two frames, one for progressive and one for regular reading glasses.

Monday morning, she comes back to pickup the glasses, and we spend a good 6-10 minutes fitting them on.
    I direct her to look far, get her to use my computer, and give her a book to read.
    I tell her to walk around the shop one time.
    Everything is perfect and she loves both of her new glasses.
    She says she can see so clear, and also that the progressive glasses were so much better then her old glasses.
    We are both happy here until then.

She decides to then drop off another frame that looks exactly like the one she just had her progressives in,
    and tells me she wants to make them reading glasses.
    I had a special going on and would only charge her $20 for one pair of single vision for returning customers.
    and she told me she didn't have any money with her right now, and that she'll pay me when she picks them up.