Thread: Zeiss Choice.....and a really weird pair of lenses being presented

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Zeiss Choice.....and a really weird pair of lenses being presented

So this is kind of a fun one. And being that I have little experience with Zeiss lenses, I figured I'd float it here and get some other opinions.

I had a patient present with a Zeiss Choice with a 19mm corridor, but his seg was only 15mm. So naturally, his add was bumped up previously to accommodate for the reading area being cut off. My interpretation of this is that his previous office has essentially turned his PAL into a pseudo-blended bifocal. Rx is pretty basic, he's a +0.25 with about -1.00 of cyl in each eye. Presented with a +2.00 add, but he tested today with a +1.50 add.

My knee jerk reaction is to put him in Autograph III with a short corridor and give him what he actually needs as an add, but I wanted to seek some opinions on the Zeiss Choice first because I have no clue about this design. So really I have 5 main questions I'd like answered:

1. Is Zeiss Choice a hard or soft blended design?
    2. Is it a compensated lens design?
    3. What is the corridor drop?
    4. Does the power build quickly or slowly within the channel?
    5. Any other unique fitting characteristics about the lens I should be aware of?

I'd also be interested to see what you all would think about doing with this situation if presented to you as well.

One eye sees, the other feels OptiBoard Silver Supporter
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by bretk0923 View Post
    So this is kind of a fun one. And being that I have little experience with Zeiss lenses, I figured I'd float it here and get some other opinions.

I had a patient present with a Zeiss Choice with a 19mm corridor, but his seg was only 15mm. So naturally, his add was bumped up previously to accommodate for the reading area being cut off.