Thread: Lab Certifications

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

Lab Certifications

Opticians have a few different certifications they can obtain (ABO, NCLE, etc), along with varying degrees of each. Are there equivalents or similar certifications for optical lab staff? Are there classes/workshops specifically tailored to lab techs or manufacturers, even if they don't come with a title?

If not, can anyone tell me how useful an ABO certification would be for lab techs/staff?

Thank you!

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    I am an adjunct professor for the Vision Care Technology Program at the Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI) which is a community college for Native Americans. The VCT program offers a Certificate and Associates Degree with emphasis on ABO prep. This one of just a few institutions which offer hands on training in a lab setting to include surfacing, edging, assembly, and verification utilizing ANSI standards. Dispensing, fitting of eyewear and contacts, refraction and pre testing are all part of the curriculum. I believe other Optician schools focus on the later.

Most Lab Techs without formal education usually receive on the job training and might be limited to just one task in the lab such as blocking, generating, fine/polish, etc. The more tasking positions such as layout and final inspection are usually held by ABO certified positions.

Benefits of ABO for a lab tech are a complete understanding of eyewear fabrication, lens theory , optical formulas and their applications. In addition, ABO certified personnel with an average higher salary.

Ghost in the OptiMachine Quince's Avatar
    Occupation
    I started out as an optician and now manage a small surfacing lab. As of now I work both sides- I buy frames, make sales, troubleshoot and dispense, as well as surfacing lenses and doing research on what new products we want to try.