Thread: Grooving polarized lenses

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Grooving polarized lenses

I'm a new lab manager at a family-owned optical shop with high-end designer frames. The new inventory (since I'm coming from LensCrafters) took a small adjustment period but I like to think I've got it down.
    A problem that I constantly have to balance is trying to groove polarized lenses, using the proper depth and width for these frames, and avoid cutting out the color (happens frequently) or causing the lens(es) to delaminate. If the color is cut-out I troubleshoot by filling the groove with a similar color using the colored groove pens from Lindberg.
    Any tips or tricks from the lab community on how to avoid this from happening?

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter lensmanmd's Avatar
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    Quote Originally Posted by ajjurcis View Post
    I'm a new lab manager at a family-owned optical shop with high-end designer frames. The new inventory (since I'm coming from LensCrafters) took a small adjustment period but I like to think I've got it down.
    A problem that I constantly have to balance is trying to groove polarized lenses, using the proper depth and width for these frames, and avoid cutting out the color (happens frequently) or causing the lens(es) to delaminate. If the color is cut-out I troubleshoot by filling the groove with a similar color using the colored groove pens from Lindberg.
    Any tips or tricks from the lab community on how to avoid this from happening?
    We tell our opticians that groove mount Polar is not recommended, but they never listen.

.5 depth and width works for us as long as the groove is at least 1mm from the front of the lens for all materials except CR39. Most of the time, average position based on the edger works well.