Thread: Who supplies Tens lenses?

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

Question Who supplies Tens lenses?

Tens (tenslife.com) is a startup sunglasses brand that helps you "filter your world like an instagram photo". Started by photographers and invested in by Richard Branson.

They said they worked with a supplier to develop this custom lens.

Any idea who they worked with?

PS - I'm new to the industry, but have learned so much lurking this site from you all! Excited to make my first post :)

Ghost in the OptiMachine Quince's Avatar
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    Welcome!

I hadn't heard about this line until viewing your post, but they are intriguing. The website says that they are not polarized but mimic a specific photographers tint.

"Our signature lens is a Category 2 tinted lens featuring full UV400 protection, blocking 100% of harmful rays. Our sunglasses aren’t polarised. The reason for this is that our perfect lens tint is not possible whilst being polarised. Our lens provides a clear and balanced view filled with depth, which makes Tens very comfortable to wear whilst driving."
    -https://us.tenslife.com/pages/faq

"The scratch- and impact-resistant CR-39 plastic polymer lenses have been coated with UV400 protection, which blocks harmful UV rays, as well as a special tint inspired by digital photo filters.
    "We focused predominantly on the way the bright sunlight was filtered -- paying close attention to filling highlight colours with subtle [yellows and oranges], adding saturation in the green and blues, particularly the sky tone,"
    -https://www.cnet.com/news/sunglasses-put-a-photo-filter-on-the-real-world/

Not sure how I feel about this review... especially since they call CR-39 impact resistant. But this is also from 3 years ago.

Long story short- I don't know who makes them, but it's probably not one of the big names if they can't produce this color choice polarized.