Thread: Common complaints for new prescriptions

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Common complaints for new prescriptions

I am fairly new to optics and am in a practice on my own without anyone to bounce questions off so this website is so wonderful. That being said, I have difficulty troubleshooting. Are there common complaints with new prescriptions that are clues that this is just something that the patient has to work through or when do you figure out that something requires a remake/new rx.

OptiBoard Professional ThePinkRanger's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Welcome to Optiboard. This question is so broad and there are so many variables at play. But check out the Tips On Dispensing thread. It's maybe the 2nd thread from in General Optics. Lots of great hints in there.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Yes, they have a wide range and very. I think it sounds more like you need to work on troubleshooting so here is what I do. Common complaint things aren't clear. Honestly have them wear them for a couple of day but after that. Check and make sure the glasses were odered correctly.The script entered correctly. Then to the lenso to varify the RX. That is usually done when the glasses come in but people like to see you verify it. The check the adjustment vertex, face warp and pano. That is were I start.

What problems are you running into?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by nellster View Post
    I am fairly new to optics and am in a practice on my own without anyone to bounce questions off so this website is so wonderful. That being said, I have difficulty troubleshooting. Are there common complaints with new prescriptions that are clues that this is just something that the patient has to work through or when do you figure out that something requires a remake/new rx.