Thread: Anti-reflective coating processes

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Anti-reflective coating processes

In my investigation of various laboratories one of the things that comes up is the process used for AR coatings, with many well respected labs using some version of dip coatings for their house AR's. I can find some good articles discussing the pros and cons of spin vs dip coatings. As I have been using Zeiss products for the last several years I am more familiar with their use of electron vapor deposition process for their coatings, but can't seem to find anything comparing this method to the spin or dip processes. Can someone with more insight into these methods explain the differences/pros/cons of the varying methods?

Also, do you know which process is used for the bigger name coatings like Crizal/Super Hi Vision/EX3/Seiko Surpass or Extreme/DuraVision/Purecoat.......

Thanks

Bad address email on file OptiBoard Gold Supporter Sean's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Wave Anti -reflective coatings comparison.

EBPVD (Electron-Beam Physical Vapor Deposition) is used to deposit anti-reflective thin films. Ingots from the different materials to deposit are placed in a low pressure reactor to be evaporated. The atomic vapor condense on the substrates, placed above the source, to form the coating. Ion etching and heating are useful to promote adhesion and to obtain dense films. A quartz cristal microbalance is often necessary to control the thickness during the process.

Then comes the question of organic or inorganic anti-reflective's.The least expensive for this type would be vacum disposition.And organics are usually spin coated.

Also,