Thread: ¿Lower Myopia to work on PC?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

¿Lower Myopia to work on PC?

Hi guys, Im a eyecare student and I hope you can help me with a fool question.

Its ok to use -0.5/-1 sphere in high prescriptions for a glasses to work long time on PC (60-80cm distance)? It will be more healthiest for the eye?

I have read different opinions and Im a little lost. Sorry if its not the place for this, Im pretty new as you can see hehe.
    Last edited by Manu90; 05-31-2016 at 03:15 PM.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by Manu90 View Post
    Hi guys, Im a eyecare student and I hope you can help me with a fool question.

Its ok to use -0.5/-1 sphere in high prescriptions for a glasses to work long time on PC (60-80cm distance)? Es mas saludable para la vista o la fatiga visual?

I have read different opinions and Im a little lost. Sorry if its not the place for this, Im pretty new as you can see hehe.
    Welcome, Manu!

Your question is a little difficult to answer since it's not 100% clear what you're asking. If you're meaning 'will subtracting -0.50 to -1.00 Diopters from the full add power produce the correct intermediate power for any given patient?' then the answer is "probably not."

If a patient with mature presbyopia needs a +2.50 add for 40cm, [40cm=0.4m; 1/.4m =2.50 Diopters] then for 80cm [=.8m; 1/.8m =1.25D]: a difference of -1.25D.

For 60-70cm, the range you mentioned becomes more likely, but we're still making a lot of assumptions about your patient and his/her degree of presbyopia and working accommodation. Assumptions will get us into trouble very quickly.

If you're referring to modifying a single-vision script for extended computer use, your range of -.50 to -1.00 looks very erroneous, but I won't type a novel why until you have a chance to clarify what you're looking for.