Thread: telescopic glasses for dentists

Bad address email on file

Redhot Jumper telescopic glasses for dentists

Hello,
    This is my first time posting a question. We had a patient come in who is a dentist. He brought in a pair of clear plastic safety glasses with telescopic lenses attached to the bottom 2.5x or 3x magnification - the top had no perscription - just provided protection. He wanted to know if we could make him a pair of glasses with the same perscription as the telescope lenses in the bottom but have his normal bifocal perscription in the top. We tried to find out where he originally purchased these glasses but without much luck. They gave me a web site oralscoptic.com - this page was not available. I also tried oralscopic.com no luck. I'll try the phone number they gave me tomorrow. We thought that maybe they might make something that was rxable. The only thing that I've found that comes close is made by eschenbach. This doesn't have a shield at all though.

From what I've found we can get a round seg with about the same mag 12.5 dioters would equal 2.5X. 15 diopters for 3 X. We could subract his near vision perscription from the add which reduce the ledge. I don't know if these would look any better than what he is already wearing though.

If you know where these telescopic type safety glasses can be ordered we may be able to get them to add his near vision to the top. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thank you very much,
    Lucia

Master OptiBoarder Joann Raytar's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Welcome to OptiBoard!

I hope this helps you out -

Franel has a 2.5x loop that attaches to glasses:
    http://www.franeloptical.com/content.php?s=13
    Focusable Monocular