Thread: Lensmaker's formula question ( studying for abo-ac )

Bad address email on file Alteaon's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Angry Lensmaker's formula question ( studying for abo-ac )

I am studying for the abo-ac, and have been going through the Optical Formulas Tutorial ( E. Stoner ). I am working on the lens maker's formula section and notice that the I get an opposite sign on the final answer than the answer has.
    If the front side is convex ( plus power ) and the back side is concave ( minus ) and there is more power on the concave side, shouldn't the end result be minus?

Problem: ( section three, #26 )

Lens is n= 1.60, convex surface w/ radius of 8 cm and a concave side w/ radius of 15 cm. What is the power:

Calculation: 1.60-1/.08 meters= +0.75; 1.60-1/.15 meters)= -4.00; -4.00+0.75=-3.25.

Book gives answer as +3.50.

I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure this one out. Any help would be appreciated.

Compulsive Truthteller OptiBoard Gold Supporter Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Draw 2 lines 16 and 30 cm respectively (or cut the size in half for convenience of scale). Put compasses at their midway point and draw a semi circle from one end to the other.

Which is steeper?

Bad address email on file Alteaon's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I don't have a compass near me. I would say that, in your example that 16 would be steeper. that means that in my problem, the concave side ( 15 cm ) would be flatter. If I'm understanding correctly, this would determine the resulting power to be plus, even though the formula shows more minus than plus? I'm sure the concept is simple but math is tough for me to visualize. I appreciate your patience and your reply

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Run your convex calc again......( your answer has a decimal misplaced)

One eye sees, the other feels OptiBoard Silver Supporter
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician