Thread: Santinelli 7070 Bearing replacement

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Santinelli 7070 Bearing replacement

After doing a search for repairing/replacing the bearing in the quill of the 7070, I wasn't able to find much so I thought I would post what trouble I am having. Basically when the grinding wheel starts to spin, I'm getting a terrible noise. After disassembling, how do I finish getting the quill off the machine and how do I get the bearing off of the quill? See pics below. Thanks!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150728_204241.jpg 
Views:	71 
Size:	39.7 KB 
ID:	12138Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150728_204228.jpg 
Views:	71 
Size:	43.4 KB 
ID:	12139Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20150728_204212.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	40.5 KB 
ID:	12137

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    bump

Banned
    Occupation
    Ophthalmic Technician
    I'm not an expert on these machines by any stretch of the imagination, however, looking at pic 2, how is the spindle mounted to the edger chassis? Check for lugs or tiedowns that hold the spindle in place. Remove all of those, and the spindle SHOULD slide to the right. There's probably a seal (the black ring that appears in pics 1 and 3), that will have to be replaced, this keeps water from entering the inside of the edger.

Once you have the spindle itself out, take it to a professional machine shop and have them strip and change the bearings for you. The bearings will most likely have to be pressed out, and that is something that is not for the faint of heart or equipment challenged folks.

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    I have the same problem with my LE 7070. How were you able to remove or replace the spindle? Was it complicated to remove the bearing and do you have any recommendations or advice on how to proceed with the work? Thanks very much for your help.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Java99's Avatar
    Occupation