Thread: Need Help with Georgia Licensing!!!

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Need Help with Georgia Licensing!!!

I am hoping you all can help me out. I'm getting frustrated with this process! I'm currently licensed in NY since 2003 and NC since 2013. I am going to be moving to GA soon. I need to get my application filled out for them. When I call the board office though, its not very helpful. I need to know if I should apply based on experience? Or education? Or can I apply based only on my current ABO/NCLE certifications? I went to school in NY but it was not an accredited program. I have had many years of experience though as a license. My NY license is on hiatus currently, do you think I need to activate it before applying for GA? I know they need each state board to verify my standing. Is there any reciprocity at all for GA? Also, has anyone taken the GA practical? How is the test in your opinion? Any help with this would be so greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you!

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    i would defiantly have an active license prior to applying, and i would use both experience and education on the application. Good luck
    Paul:cheers:

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    What are the requirements for a dispensing opticians license?
    Submit a completed application, non-refundable fee, copy of high school diploma, transcript or GED certificate, and a photo taken within one year. Complete applications with all attachments and documents will be scheduled for examinations.

If applying on the basis of education, the applicant must have satisfactorily completed a course of study in a recognized school of ophthalmic dispensing approved by the Board. An official College transcript, with graduation date, and copy of diploma must accompany application showing completion of program.