June 26, 2014

The American Optometric Association awarded its most prestigious prize – the Apollo award – to Bernard Maitenaz, French inventor of progressive lenses.

Bernard Maitenaz, inventor of the progressive lens and Chairman and CEO of Essilor from 1980-1991, has been presented yesterday with the prestigious Apollo Award at this year’s 117th Annual American
Optometric Association (AOA) Congress. The AOA represents some 36,000 doctors of optometry who provide two-thirds of all primary eye care in the United States. The Apollo Award honors persons or organizations for distinguished service to the visual welfare of the public.
This award pays tribute to the groundbreaking nature of these innovative lenses - both today and in the past.

See more -------->