Thread: Need Advice

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Need Advice

Hi Everyone, my name is Andy and I have lurked here for a while, but now I need help. My Doctor has asked us to find new alternatives to Essilor since they are now directly competing with us via the internet and other things. We are looking at having a few labs to provide us different things. Our demo is varied from Medicaid work to drill mounts, and we would like to have lenses that are the newest technology. Im new to my position and I need advice, Ive read about IOT, Augen, ProFit, and the other branded lenses, I guess Im curious about which will give me a wide range of choices and not compete with us at the same time. Oh and we also want to avoid lenses being sold at the big box stores since its easy for them to take our patients once we sell them, they can sell them the same thing. Any help would be appreciated, I need to have a list by Monday.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Rochester Optical is a wholesale lab that offers Hoya, Seiko, and Shamir designs. These are three outstanding lens companies that are better than Essilor IMO. Rochester Optical also has a freeform house brand they call RO Digital (possibly an IOT design?). I have no personal knowledge about the quality of work they do, but they do carry excellent brands, and do not appear to carry Essilor.
    www.rochesteroptical.com

OptiBoardaholic OptiBoard Silver Supporter
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    GSRX in Scottsdale AZ has amazing prices and their own house brand digital. Otherwise I like to use a lab that offers Shamir products, they are excellent and top tier if you are looking to provide the "best". I use VSP San Diego for my Shamir stuff.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Here's to you and your doctor.
    Hoya and Zeiss both have great products. All lens materials, many designs and price points.