Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about Starting A Lab

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Thinking about Starting A Lab

Hello everyone! I currently work for VSP Sacramento in the Unity Coating Department as a Hard coater and I am also an Optician/Ophthalmic tech in the United States Army Reserve. I have about 3 years of experience in clinical and dispensing and about a year and a half in production. I'm looking for some information as to some ideal locations to start at and about the rough cost to start one up. I have connections to OD's and VSP I'm sure would be willing to help me out with my adventures if I do. Any feedback would be very helpful!
    Thank you!

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Gold Supporter Judy Canty's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    That's a heck of a commute!

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    China!?
    Dont count on VSP or others help!

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    You can make a small pile of money starting a lab. The trick is that you're going to need a large pile of money to start with.
    FEA Industries
    Independent Wholesale Optical Lab
    www.feaind.com
    www.optmagazine.com
    Morton, PA

Occupation
    I would be hard pressed to start a lab in todays optical environment. Though if I did it would be free-form only. So you would be looking at a minimum of 350,000.00 plus.

Occupation
    You're probably looking at more than $350. That's probably just for free-form equipment. You still have to have staff, a building, insurance, etc. Then you have one free-form line - hopefully you don't have any machine issues. If you need a part, even if you get it next day, that's a day where you aren't making any lenses if you only have one machine.

There's also software costs for the lab to consider.