Thread: ABO - Third round

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

ABO - Third round

I have taken the ABO exam twice and am preparing to register for the May testing. I am studying every day and have registered for Stewart Optical's exam reviews, which I have heard are quite helpful for both the ABO, NCLE, and the State Board Exam (I live in Washington state). Any advice? Resources? Anything that would help at this point would be greatly appreciated -at this point, if I don't pass the exam, I will no longer have a career as an optician... I need help.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    What other study material do you have?

OptiBoardaholic OptiBoard Silver Supporter
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    Not to plug my own work but I'm ABO - AC, NCLC, LDO and CE author for ABO & NCLE. I wrote and published a book late last year based on the ABO Advanced exam material including an extensive practice test. The questions are based from the most recent exam. Now it maybe a little more advanced than the regular ABO exam but if you learn ABO advanced material then the test will be a breeze! My book is available on amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/149...pf_rd_i=507846)

Also, a member on from this site is creating a resource site http://www.opticaltrainer.com. The hope is there will be a lot of resources for studying opticians there. I am personally posting some of my CE courses on the site.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Java99's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    What part of the test are you having the most trouble with?

Occupation
    I am going to post some of the relevant chapters for ABO exam on Dave's site (if he lets me) www.opticaltrainer.com I hope they will help you, it would be a shame to lose a job you enjoy because you are struggling with the ABO. Let us know what is your primary source of problems and I'm sure you will get lots of help!