Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buffalo Horn Frames

Rising Star
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Buffalo Horn Frames

I have a number of questions regarding buffalo horn frames that I hope you can all enlighten me on.

I have been selling genuine horn frames for the last ten months with reasonable success, extolling their virtues as light, strong, and natural.

However, having not worked with horn extensively, I'm not 100% sure of these claims, and whilst I appreciate that the material is beautiful because it's natural rather than a man-made copy, I would appreciate anyone's learned opinions on this material.

For example, is it really true that the material moulds to the contours of the face after a while and, if so, after how long? Best tips for glazing? How much do you sell them for? Best suppliers? Recommended lens materials? Any other tips gratefully received!

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Lightbulb horn

:D Adam , contact our resident expert on frames jerry Huang who is now traveling in Asia, but reads this every nite, or email him at eyetailor.com....Jerry works with horn extensively and in fact i am wearing one he custom made for me.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Frame Manufacturer
    Hi Adam,

It is my pleasure to share my experience on horn, wood and other natural material. I am now in the wild of Mongolia, looking for natural material and hopefully they can be useful for eyewear manufacturing. All natural material has it own beautiful color and pattern creates by GOD.

Horn is a beautiful material to work with but very difficult for manufacturing. There are some important tips for adjustment and maintenance:

1. Only use CR-39 lens.
    2. The lens must cut in exact rim groove size.
    3. For horn frame adjustment/lens insertion---always wet horn frame with baby oil or corn oil, then heat with hot air up to 200 C evenly til the material is completed "soft". Then hold the horn frame for air dry with thick oiled cotton clothes.