Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RXs that benefit most from FFSV?

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

RXs that benefit most from FFSV?

Hi, I've introduced myself a couple of times but if you haven't seen I'm new here and pretty new to the profession. We have a semi-retired optician who comes in a couple of days a week to augment his SS and retirement benefits, and while he is an absolute WEALTH of information and experience, sometimes it seems like he checked out of staying current a while back. Our other optician doubles as office manager and while he's more experienced than me, a lot of times he's got his head too buried in the paperwork to help much. So I find myself on the front lines a little more than I probably should be at this point.

My question, about which my ignorance was exposed a couple of posts ago is when is the upgrade to FF of significant benefit in a single vision rx? I've had some experiences where maybe the patient was just saying they were happy because I'd hyped it, and I'd rather be on a sound basis for recommending it. Of course, I get pushed to push it and I'd rather not when it's not going to be of a significant benefit and I'd like to be able to push back armed with some of your experiences.

Again, my thanks to all of you, reading postings here has been an invaluable benefit not only to me, but the people I serve.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Barry Santini's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Any cyl over 1.25
    Good acuity and contrast sensitivity
    pupil heights more than 6mm above MC
    wrap angle > 8

B

Rising Star
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician