Thread: How do you troubleshoot problems with progressives?

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Confused How do you troubleshoot problems with progressives?

OK so I am brand new to the optincinary world. And while I have a doctor with 21 years of experience that oversees everything that I do it would be helpful for me to find my OWN support network. yay. I've found that at the optiboard! (At least we hope).

So here it is. I've got several jobs that I am having probelms with. Not to bad a ratio considering 1. I am a rookie. 2. In reality it's not really a high percentage, say 10% at most (Including all remakes). My question is this:

What steps do you take to determine what the problem is when a PT complains about progressives?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    I'd say it's one of the hardest parts of the job. First thing to try usually is to adjust the angle of the lenses with a bow angle or pantoscopic tilt. You will find that will solve some issues and is very easy to do. Hopefully it goes without saying to check the alignment of the markings and that the lenses are correct to the Rx. I'll post a more complete answer in the next couple of days, but good question, and I'm interested to see what the more knowledgeable here have to say.

Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    What he said, and:
    Convergence can be an issue. Progressives' near is inset 2.5mm each eye compared to the distance. Some people converge more or less, and sometimes unevenly. Also, convergence requirements may be different for minus lenses than for plus lenses. Also, if the patients PD is wider than the frame PD, negative face form may be called for, especially in steeper base curves.
    Wesley S. Scott, MBA, MIS, ABOM, NCLE-AC, LDO - SC & GA

“As our circle of knowledge expands, so does the circumference of darkness surrounding it.” -Albert Einstein