Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Topcon CT-80 NCT tonometery help?

  1. #1
    Master OptiBoarder snowmonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Posts
    1,194

    Topcon CT-80 NCT tonometery help?

    We have a Topcon CT-80 NCT tonometer that just stopped blowing air yesterday. It makes a louder "chunk" sound now when you hit the button but doesn't blow any air.

    Has anyone out there run into this before? Topcon wants me to ship the thing in, was hoping for a quicker and easier solution.

    Thanks!
    -Steve

  2. #2
    ATO Member HarryChiling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Nowhereville
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Posts
    7,765
    Quote Originally Posted by snowmonster View Post
    We have a Topcon CT-80 NCT tonometer that just stopped blowing air yesterday. It makes a louder "chunk" sound now when you hit the button but doesn't blow any air.

    Has anyone out there run into this before? Topcon wants me to ship the thing in, was hoping for a quicker and easier solution.

    Thanks!
    Right hand side behind the power button at the bottom check the fuses.

    Email for machine manual.

  3. #3
    Master OptiBoarder snowmonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Posts
    1,194
    I checked them and even switched them and it didn't seem to change anything. The test puff results in an "N.G." on the screen. I determined that to mean "not good."
    -Steve

  4. #4
    Master OptiBoarder opty4062's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    GA
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Posts
    416
    How often and how do you clean it? Ours got gunked up once when a lack of communication meant no one was cleaning it. It did the same thing. Called out a tech who reset it somehow and gave it a good cleaning (and us a good thrashing for not cleaning it) and it was good to go!

  5. #5
    Master OptiBoarder snowmonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Posts
    1,194
    We clean the little hole and the window occasionally but certainly not monthly. I'm half tempted to take it apart and see if there's anything obvious going on (since it's not under warranty).

  6. #6
    Master OptiBoarder rbaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Gold Hill, OR
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    Posts
    4,322
    Quote Originally Posted by snowmonster View Post
    Topcon wants me to ship the thing in, was hoping for a quicker and easier solution.

    Thanks!
    Shipping it to Topcon may just be the quicker and easier solution. You also may feel a little more confident with the accuracy of your testing if that is an issue.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. USED TOPCON CL-200 AUTO LENSMETER & Topcon Lensmeter LM-8E
    By tomfx38 in forum Optical Marketplace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2009, 03:35 PM
  2. Topcon VT-10 help
    By Ory in forum General Optics and Eyecare Discussion Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 09:55 AM
  3. Does anyone use the TOPCON CL-200
    By Ineed Chocolate in forum General Optics and Eyecare Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2008, 04:19 PM
  4. Topcon CT-60 Available NOW
    By Leo Hadley Jr in forum Optical Marketplace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 03:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
OptiBoard is proudly sponsored by:
Younger Optics and Vision Equipment