Thread: Current Optician Thinking about Persuing Career as OD

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Smilie Current Optician Thinking about Persuing Career as OD

Let me first tell you a little about myself. This is my first time posting here on OptiBoard, but I found this site while doing many, many weeks of research and have finally decided to post with my questions.

I'm originally from Pennsylvania. While there I was pursuing a career in Small Business Management. I was about 12 credits away from attaining my associate's when I moved to West Virginia with my now husband. He is working his dream profession as a professional firefighter/emt.

I put things on hold and went to look for work. I wound up working a job I never thought I would be in. I landed a job at an optometry practice with 4 different offices. They trained me in being an optician as well as a technician. I fell in love with the field. I started doing my research, but was severely disappointed when I realized where the closest schools were. The closest to me now would be in Elkins Park, PA (Salus University) and that's about 3.5 hours away. I decided to look into other options and after buying a foreclosure and getting a wonderful deal on it I obtained my Real Estate License. I did this for a year and was immensely displeased with the career. It just wasn't for me. On paper it looked great for me, but at the end of the day I just didn't enjoy it.

I went back to working small jobs and continued to look for something closer to home that paid better. Well wouldn’t you know about a month ago now I was able to get a job as an optician again and this time 20 minutes closer to my home. Not to mention I work with veterans and it is so gratifying. I've been able to talk to the optometrists there and one in particular has really made an effort to inform me and direct me.