Thread: frame board management

Bad address email on file

frame board management

I am an op tech, not formally trained in opticianry, but proficient at what I do. I am now in charge of frame board management and very much a newbie in this area. I would like to hear how others do this. At the current time, I am following the procedure my predecessor followed. My difficulties with her methods are:

1. When the reps come in, they show me their frames case by case, and they point out which styles we’ve sold before and which are new. I choose frames as we go along. The difficulty here is, if I plan to buy X number of frames from this rep, on the one hand I may choose too many frames at the beginning of this process then I end up overbuying toward the end; on the other hand, by the time I’ve chosen X frames, we are only halfway through the cases and I have to by-pass the rest of the frames. I would prefer to see all the frames first then decide, yet this seems time consuming. I know some of the rep’s accounts allow the rep to send them a given number of her best selling frames. That doesn’t appeal to me. I prefer to select the styles myself to suit our patient base. Ideas, please, on how to go about this.

2. Do you have a guideline for how many frames you allocate to each company or line? Do you stick to a firm number or allow a range? I’m also curious how many reps you have.

3. Do you have a guideline for how many frames in each price point?

Any tips would be appreciated…thanks in advance.

Master OptiBoarder Texas Ranger's Avatar

Smilie