Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's the difference between daily and monthly contacts?

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

What's the difference between daily and monthly contacts?

I'm an optometry student, and I'm trying to figure out the difference between daily and monthly contacts. A few dailies seem to have the same materials, water contents and oxygen permeabilities as biweekly/monthly lenses of the same brand. Sometimes these dailies are thicker, thinner, or the same thickness as their biweekly/monthly counterparts. So is it just the packaging and care procedures that are different, or is there some other attribute that distinguishes them?

The lenses I'm looking at are:
    SofLens Daily Disposables / SofLens 59
    ProClear 1-Day / ProClear
    1-Day Acuvue / Acuvue Colors

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Gold Supporter Judy Canty's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I'm sure that one of your professors could enlighten you.

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    it really depends on the manufacturer. as B&L found out years ago, you are not allowed to market the exact same lens under different modalities, but depending on the manuefaacturer there are greater or lesser differences. methafilcon, polymacon as well as some other materials haved been use for 2 week, monthly, and full year modalities. but most lenses that have come out more recently have distinct materials for different packaging.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Gold Supporter Judy Canty's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I do not believe this is an Optometry student. More likely, a consumer trying to choose for an online order.

Independent Problem Optiholic edKENdance's Avatar
    Occupation
    Optical Retail
    Interesting question though.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    can't wait to hear what Chip tells him.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation