Thread: Prism only for the reading portion of a progressive

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Prism only for the reading portion of a progressive

2BI O.U

I assume this means that patient's eyes dont properly converge.

Anyone feel differently?

This is my first time seeing any prism not related to entire Rx.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Kodak is labeling it as "Anti-fatigue Technology" and it is supposed to be good for people who are using near/intermediate for several hours a day. I understand it is a 1 base in prism on the add area only. Interested in what everyone thinks about this idea also....

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Don't know anything about what Kodak is up to. But I have at least one referring doctor that sees a lot of adult strabismus and this is not un common. It's why we use Franklin bifocals. They can be made easily and relatively cheap and you don't have to wait so long for them to get to you from a specialty lab that the prescription has already changed when they get to you.

Can't immagine why anyone would want to do this in a progessive though. These people have enough trouble getting things into focus already without inducing the inherent distortion of a progressive.

Chip

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    I agree with Chip. If you really need a progressive it can be done that way too. Kcount reported about doing a pair that way. One diopter is an anti-fatique lens, strabimus usually requires 2 or more diopters.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I have a doc that seems to do this to me about once a quarter, but since most of the pts we see have B.O. in the distance rx, we just use a fresnel prism on the reading portion to get our desired B.I. , typically my strabimus pts have lined bifocals, but I have done a couple that went with a progressive.