Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Power crosses

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Confused Power crosses

so... I'm having a bit of a struggle with power crosses.
    I can transpose back and forth in my head, but there seems to be a fundamental point I'm not grasping about working with power crosses.
    Anyone got any pointers?

And, just out of curiosity, why does my instructor keep using so many plus cylinder notations? What's the point? We can't even order front side cylinder lenses, they just show up with a negative cyl lens form (my preceptor tried) and if we see a plus cyl Rx every month I'd be surprised.

ps: I now the only real answer is to just keep hitting the books, but I just felt like a bit of idle chat :7

-Chris

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    What a neat little coincidence! I'm a workshop instructor for the Canadian Association of Optometrists' Optometric Assistant Course. I just delivered a lecture on power crosses this morning. It's a little hard to do this without being able to draw things out for you but l'll do my best. What is it about power crosses that confuses you?

You will see Rx's in plus cyl notation, particularly from ophthalmologists so you need to know what to do with them. I taught my students this morning about transposing; I made them transpose from minus cyl to plus cyl simply to show them that it can go both ways.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Christopher: It's kinda like humanity................some of us are + some of us are -, some are both + and -, and also, AC or DC.

It doesn't matter that you are or aren't.......but you need to know how to recognize it and deal with it!

Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician