Thread: Optical store in US HELP!!!

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Unhappy Optical store in US HELP!!!

Hi every one!
    This is coming from India.I have an Optical store in India & have been working since 1985,with my father,an ophthalmologist.Now after his death,
    I am looking forward to immigrating to the US,where my sister is a citizen.Since In India you do'nt need a certification to be an optician,I have none except some private courses,& ofcource an experience in doing refraction,fitting contact lenses,dispensing spectacles,& maintianing a store.As I was a medical student till high school,my understanding & knowledge of the subject is good.
    What I basically want to know is,
    1.Does one need to be an optometrist to open an optical store in the US?
    2.Does one need to be qualified in order to just fill the prescription of an optometrist/ophthal?
    3.Is there any way /any web site,where I can get information on doing a cource while in India?(distance education)
    As opticianary is the line of business I have spent so many years in & is the line I love,I can not think of changing my line of business.Is it real tough buying & running an optical store in the US?
    Can any one help?
    Regards
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sig-1.gif  

Master OptiBoarder Joann Raytar's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    spexwala,

Welcome to OptiBoard!

In the US, the answers to your questions will differ depending on which state you chose to open an optical shop or practice in.