Thread: ABO Study Question

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

ABO Study Question

Hello everyone. I am a long time lurker to this board, and am in need of assistance. I am studying for the ABO, and have a practice question that is giving me a hard time. Things just do not seem to add up on this for me. The question is:

The optician has just neutralized an unknown power lens with test lenses. The test lenses used to neutralize the power in the vertical is a plus 1.00 and the test lensused to neutralize the power in the horizontal is a plus 1.50. (NOTE: These test lenses were used alone for each meridian, Not superimposed .) What is the Rx?
    a. -1.50 +.50 x 180
    b. +1.50 +1.00 x 180
    c. -1.50 -.50 x 180
    d. +1.00 +.50 x 90

If one of you wise opticians could walk me through this, I would appreciate it. I do understand that the test lens is supposed to zero out the lens being neutralized, but canot seem to come up with an answer listed.
    Last edited by miracle worker; 05-11-2011 at 11:27 AM.

Compulsive Truthteller OptiBoard Gold Supporter Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Please no shouting out the answer if you know it...

Quote Originally Posted by miracle worker View Post
    Hello everyone. I am a long time lurker to this board, and am in need of assistance. I am studying for the ABO, and have a practice question that is giving me a hard time. Things just do not seem to add up on this for me. The question is:

The optician has just neutralized an unknown power lens with test lenses. The test lenses used to neutralize the power in the vertical is a plus 1.00 and the test lensused to neutralize the power in the horizontal is a plus 1.50. (NOTE: These test lenses were used alone for each meridian, Not superimposed .) What is the Rx?
    a. -1.50 +.50 x 180
    b. +1.50 +1.00 x 180
    c. -1.50 -.50 x 180
    d. +1.00 +.50 x 90