Thread: student seeking interview

OptiBoard Novice

Hi my name is selina and I am a student in the HCC optician's program, I have been asked to interview an optician for my first homework assignment.
    1. How long have you been an optician?
    2. What did you do before you became an optician and what got you interested in the optical field?
    3. If you had one piece of advice to give to new people going into the field, what would it be?
    4. What do you enjoy most about being an Optican?
    5. How do you feel about apprenticeships, do you think that they should be cancelled.

Thank you so much for your help

selina

[This message has been edited by selina (edited 08-31-2000).]

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

Selina, I 'll get this started and at the end, I'll nag everybody else to respond

1.I have been an optician for 14 years- two years ago I stopped dispensing to become a wholesale lab rep.

2. My father is an optometrist and I have been working fro him in one capacity or another since I was 13 (like cleaning the office and doing filing). when I was 18 they let me start in optical which in retrospect is really scary because I had no idea what I was doing. I moved around alot when I was younger and found that I could always find a job- good optical people are hard to find and I eventually got pretty good :)

3. My one piece of advice would be to never stop learning and always be open to trying new things. I found after going to work for a lab that there was so much I did not know about optics that would have made me an even better optician-I am glad to have that knowledge now because you never know when I might end up doing that again. I love that our industry is always working to improve what is already out there.