Thread: Somebody help me!

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Somebody help me!

I'm no optical engineer, let me make that perfectly clear.
    But, I think back on the "days" of the lenticular minus lens and stuff and ask myself.....self....
    That lens was crude being basically spherical and an occasional toric surface. Yet, on a 1.523 or even a 1.49 cr39 thinness was achieved by careful selection of curves.
    It seems to me that with the right combinations of aspherocity, parabolics and touch of motion control technology, the real need for higher index lenses, while I don't have a problem with them, would be diminished.
    I just get this "feeling" that all the optics "ain't sittin" on what we get for $1.50 a piece from Nalco (trying to be funny, sorry!).

Are we using all of the tools of optics or are we also caught up in some commercialization? I'm also not throwing darts at science. I'm just trying to put things in their right context.

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    Alan,

Been away from the board for a good 3 or 4 weeks (gee it was tough) but signing back on and seeing that 800 posts since your "last visit" was amazing...
    Now since no one else wants to "play" in your sandbox..oops I mean thread ;) maybe I can get the ball rolling...