Thread: Ideas for generating new patients and an open house?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Ideas for generating new patients and an open house?

I have worked for three ODs in my 15 years of experience but they all had existing patient bases and were well known in their communities. I just hired on with an OD who started a solo practice two years ago. There are some things I would have suggested he do differently, such as location, that cant be undone now. Any ideas on how to get new patients into our office? General advertising hasnt worked, I am new to this city, they arent a boutique, we take most of the same vision insurance as everyone else etc. I mean our phone rarely rings! There doesnt seem to be anything that sets us apart from all the existing ODs.

Also, they are going to host an open house next month and are looking for new ideas. Last year they had food, bouncey house for kids, typical give aways. I would appreciate ideas that have worked to bring new people into contact with our office and make them want to stay! I think he is a good OD but how do we get people to try us?

OptiBoard Apprentice conantoptics's Avatar
    Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer
    Hi, I get an idea: 5 free testing everyday; and post this on local newspaper.
    will this work?
    Hello, this is Kevin Wan! :cheers:

Optiwizard making films Audiyoda's Avatar
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Open House = Trunk Show. If you can get two vendors with differing product lines do it. Offer everyone that makes a purchase a chance to pull something from a hat. They can win various discounts, a cleaning kit...sky's the limit - but everyone should win. And make sure the open house has a theme - makes a difference.

OptiBoard Apprentice conantoptics's Avatar
    Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer
    Quote Originally Posted by Audiyoda View Post