Thread: How to have "thin" lens in plus power?

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Blue Jumper How to have "thin" lens in plus power?

Here are the parameters of the prescription:

OD +7.50/-2.50 X 80
    OS +3.00/-2.00 X 90
    PD 64/62

Full metal frame
    Eye size : 48mm
    Bridge : 18mm
    Longest axes : 50mm

What dia. of lens shld. be order?
    Does "precal" works in this one?

Occupation
    Optometrist
    i'm not an expert in lenses but i think you may consider using high index and full rim frame so the side thickness can be made to then minimum.

hope it helps..
    Yeap

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Thanks for the reply Yeap! I already ordered 1.67 index but the patient is not satisfied with the thickness,that's why I need to reorder. Does anyone knows how to calculate the effective diameter of the lens that I shld. order? Or any brand you can suggest?

One of the worst people here
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    In addition
    - Use a round frame, as it will limit the ED length.
    - Try to match the frame PD as close as possible to the person's PD.
    - Order the lenses with a knife edge. Sometimes a lab will just give you a 2mm edge. Unacceptable. They should be able to order the lens to be surfaced for that frame.
    - Get an aspheric lens

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Can you just have your lab surface the lens as thin as possible using whatever they feel would give the best finished product?

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Order thinnest material designed in aspheric.

Diane
    Anything worth doing is worth doing well.

Occupation
    Optical Retail
    Yes. Good stuff here.

Thin material, 1.67 or 1.74 hyper high index, aspheric lens. A/R, of course. Small eye size, with a frame PD as close to the patient's PD as possible. Plastic frame to conceal edge and mount the lenses firmly. Ask the lab for a knife-edge.