View Poll Results: How long do you expect your edger to serve you faithfully?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • 6 month or less

0 0%
  • 6 to 12 month

0 0%
  • 1 to 2 years

0 0%
  • 2 to 3 years

1 3.70%
  • 3 to 5 years

4 14.81%
  • 5 years and more

22 81.48%

Thread: Operating life of Nidek ME1000 and Nidek Ice-9000 and some other edgers and blockers

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Exclamation Operating life of Nidek ME1000 and Nidek Ice-9000 and some other edgers and blockers

Hello all!

I am an administrator of an ophthalmology clinic in Central Asia, and recently we have opened up an optometric department. Right now, for accounting , planning and some other reasons, we need to know the durability or operating life of Nidek's ME-1000 edger and Nidek's ICE-9000 blocker.

If anyone had experience with these two pieces of equipment, please leave a note about how long has they served you faithfully. As a matter of fact, the owners of other blocking and edging equipment can also leave info about their machines, so anyone interested can look and compare.

I believe, the durability judgement shall be based on Time (how long has it worked) and/or Amount of lenses it has successfully blocked/edged (if there is such statistics available). Also, please mention how intense have you used it and whether you have purchased a used one or worked with a brand new one.

Thank you all beforehand,

Al

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    We've had our ME-1000 for just over 2 years now, and I love that machine. We're in a wholesale lab enviornment, running about 100 jobs a day through it. While I think it would be happier in a lower volume lab, especially a doctor's office, it had been running very well for us.

We've got every single upgrade possible on the machine, both software and hardware and other than the standard wearing out of parts, such as the drill bits for 3 piece mounts, we've had no problems with it.