Thread: Help with question about salary....

OptiBoard Novice

Confused Help with question about salary....

- lab tech with 3 years experience with following edgers
    Esillor Alpha and Gamma
    Sentinelli paternless
    Briot CX
    -Tinting and the rest of the obvious duties
    -Ordering products
    -Fitting patients and dispensing
    -Notifiyng patients
    -Updating patient records and processing insurance info.
    -Sales and maintaining sales floor
    -Ordering frames and writing up patients for C/L
    -VERY low remake numbers and high quality work...quality NOT quantity....
    -very strong sales skills and can answer almost ANY qestion a patient may ask. (Unless it's eye health related)

BASICALLY i do everything except examine the patient.....
    I get paid 13.00 and hour and this is at the UPPER EAST SIDE in MANHATTAN NYC...... does anyone feel like I'm grossly underpaid. I log in 25 hours a week there and i'm a college student hoping to go to optometry school.:o if anyone here thinks then can give me some info on wages I would appreciate it GREATLY.
    Optical Lab Tech "Eye To Eye" vision center Roosevelt Field Mall, Long Island, New York

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    You must be working for an O.D. and you want to become one?

Bad address email on file Rich R's Avatar
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    Hi Kevin
    It's difficult to give a response, but here are my thoughts on it.
    I think you are middle or upper pay from the description you give.
    The higher pay usually requires a management title in the bussiness, however there are exceptions, as I know a few Opticians who make more than $13. and also many who make less, so it depends alot who you work for and how much they care about quality help.
    Rich R

OptiBoard Novice