Thread: Officemate Inventory Help!!

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Blue Jumper Officemate Inventory Help!!

We are a private practice in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. We are looking for a referral to help us implement the Officemate Frame Inventory system.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    What exactly do you need?
    Advice
    Support
    Input

I've been using OM frame inventory for 6 years.

david

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

OM - Inventory

Hello David,

Thanks in advance for your input. We are in the process of implementing OM's inventory module at this time and our challenge is on the bookkeeping side. As you know, OM only allows you to specify the "Product cost" and "Product Fee" for the frames. These number are not actual and therefore it is no help for bookkeeping/accounting. In other words, my inventory value, per Om's reports, is different than my actual numbers since the majority of the times we end up getting frames for a lower price than their book cost. And we may even sell the frames for a different price than the "Product Fee" due to discounts etc.

My questions is:

1. Do you have a different system for managing your actual costs?
    2. How do you keep your books with accurate information?

Thank you very much!

Master OptiBoarder Striderswife's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Everywhere I've worked, we've always gotten a discount that made the actual cost of goods less than the list price, but always determined our price off of that list price. I've never had to put in our actual paid price.