Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ABO test question

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

ABO test question

I'm studying for the ABO exam and am having trouble with the following practice question. I have the correct answer in the book but need to know to arrive at the answer. I would appreciate help with this, and the simpler the better. Thanks!

What prismatic effect would a patient experience looking 4mm below the optical center of a pair of +4.00 -1.00 x 030 lenses?

a) 1.30 diopters of prism B. U.
    b) 1.30 diopters of prism B. D.
    c) 1.60 diopters of prism B. U.
    d) 1.60 diopters of prism B. D.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Now I See's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    You'll have to apply prentice's rule:

P = d x D/10

d = the distance from the optical center in mm
    D = the dioptric power of the lens

Using your RX

1st you have to find the total power of the lens at 90. *find this using the oblique meridian formula*

+4.00 + (-0.75) = +3.25

next up will plug that number into prentice's rule:

P = 4 x (3.25)/10

P = 13.00/10

P = 1.3

*Watch out on some of these questions, sometimes they will ask you the same type of question using cm instead of mm! Remember the rule works only if you have (d) in mm.*

Hope that helps a little.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Thank you so much! Wish me lots of luck!

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Always visualize where you eye is in relation to the thick part of the lens.

On a +rx looking down causes the thick part to be above your eye and therefore base up.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Good Luck!

Just remember, READ the questions...don't let the thoughts of time get in your way...Breathe, Read, Breathe, Read..oh, yeah, don't forget to answer!...LOL! :D