Thread: YAG Capsulotomy and near vision...

Compulsive Truthteller OptiBoard Gold Supporter Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

YAG Capsulotomy and near vision...

OK as you know I'm no doctor or whiz at ray tracing but I wonder if some of you who are could feed my curiosity regarding patients who have trouble with near vision after YAG treatment.

I know how complicated rays of light can get in passing through multiple curved surfaces on the way to the fovia. Does that explain why some post IOL secondary cataract patients find their near vision seems to deteriorate from what it was right after YAG treatment?

Are the size and location of the tear(s) critical? How are they determined?

Would a specific OC placement in a sv near lens help?

This questions nagged at me for a while now so do you guys have any helpful thoughts or experiences?

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    You might be able to determine some of the remnants of the capsule with a slit lamp. Could be he isn't clearing enough room for vision when looking down. If you have a good reasonable surgeon who actually thinks opticians and technicians might be thinking intelligent human beings, he might modify his technique for you. If you have one who views non-physicians as a sub-species you just plain out of luck.
    Had one once who was leaving elevated pupils (pre pseudophake days) and apakic contacts tended to lag, which wasn't working well with elevated pupils. He changed technique and solved the problems. Had others who "were the ophthalmic surgeon" and not to be questions, so thier patients suffered.

Chip

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optometrist