Thread: Meridional anesiokonia, vertical imbalance, irregular astigmatism, and progressives

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Question Meridional anesiokonia, vertical imbalance, irregular astigmatism, and progressives

I am new to the OptiBoard and would like to seek any suggestions on the following case:

The patient had RK about 20 years ago and was left with irregular astigmatism, poor contrast sensitivity and for now asymptomatic meridional anesiokonia. On top of this, he also had muscle surgery 12 years ago for a long standing forth nerve palsy and now is beginning to show a vertical imbalance again. He has worn Varilux Comfort lenses for about 10 years and has tolerated progressive lenses better than one might have thought. His last Rx was OD +1.12 -1.50 x 148, OS +3.50 -2.00 x 082, with +2.50 add OU in the 1.67 index material with +5.50 BC OU.

My five-fold goal for this patient is to design new progressive lenses that will enhance contrast sensitivity, not push him over the edge on the anesiokonia, to correct his vertical imbalance, maintain comfortable vision at near, with glasses that are cosmetically pleasing.

RX: OD +1.25 -1.50 x 130 with 2 prism diopters base up, OS +4.00 -2.25 x 087, +250 Add OU. Monocular PD is OD 33.5, OS 34.5.

Goal #1: Enhance overall vision and contrast sensitivity by switching to an uncoated Autograph II variable (free-form), 1.60 Index, and applying Zeiss Carat Advantage AR with Foundation A.

Goal#2: Try to maintain or slightly improve the current meridional anesiokonia in the vertical meridian by using equal BC OU (either +5.00 or +6.00), minimum center thickness on the OS and matching it on the OD. Vertex distance is probably stuck at 13mm because of deep set eyes. I am not sure what BCs the manufacture recommends, but I suspect it is probably a +6 on the OD and +7 on the OS which would only make the anesiokonia worse.