Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wet Refractions

OptiBoard Apprentice Lachrymator's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Wet Refractions

Hey everyone, I'd like to start by saying I'm new to optiboard, and this is my first thread here.

Over the last 5-6 years I've worked with probably half a dozen O.D.'s in our clinic, and of course each one has their own style. But one thing I've always wondered about is the art of the wet refraction.

Some of our doctors will see the patient for about 15 min, refract them, dilate them, and release them to us (the opticians) so we can go over their insurance and show them our frames. Their spectacle Rx is finalized and we know exactly what we're working with (prescription-wise). We make our sale, and send the patient back in the exam room for the retinal portion of the exam.

Some other doctors will see the patient, refract, dilate, etc. But after our sale, they will perform a wet refraction (while the patient is dilated) to get a better feel for the true shape of the patient's eye. Of course they don't write their Rx that way. They pick something in between the first refraction and the wet refraction. When I've asked these doctors, they say it's how they were trained and that it's an "art".

The other doctors (who don't do this) question "why would you perform a wet refraction since the patient doesn't walk around dilated?"