Thread: Boston EO/XO

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Question Boston EO/XO

Hi. I'm an engineer (electrical) and a contact lens consumer. I found this site while researching rgp lenses. I have worn polycon II lenses for 10+ years, though I tend to have my eyes feel tired out after more than 8 hours of use. I broke one lens in February, and had the prescription renewed by a local optometrist. I have just scratched another, and since I have to pay for at least one lens, am interested in switching to Boston lenses. This optometrist has only experience with Boston RXD's (has not a lot of RGP business). Acknowledging what I have read on your site clearly warning about the misconceptions that higher dk's are necessarily better, I do have some belief that the 3x or 4x higher dk's of the Boston EO or XO lenses, would have to have some difference (whether this is perceptible in daily wear is one of my questions). The optometrist said he would write me a script for the Boston XO's, but could not take any responsiblity for the outcome since he has not fitted them to people. The prescription he renewed in February was a slight modification of the one I have had for all these years --same power, .1mm less of a base curve, and same diameter (didn't notice much difference).

My concerns for the EO and XO would be whether they would be more breakable, scratchable than the RXD (or polycon's) and might be more deformable (in or out of my eye). I spoke with three rgp labs for opinions. One said that at my prescription (left and right lens the same ----6.5sph,9.0diam, 7.9b.x.) that the lens would not be stable. The other two said there would be no problem. I would go to another optometrist, but I was laid off from a startup in the spring, and do not have an extra $150 to spend for an exam if I can help it. This present optometrist appeared to be meticulous to my engineering standards anyway.