Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandatory Seg Heights

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Mandatory Seg Heights

Our co-owner has decided to use a mandatory progressive seg ht measuring system. In other words, no matter what we experienced opticians measure on the patient it is to be voided if it is not 4mm above center. If a patient chooses a frame and is not the mandatory seg ht we are to tell the patient the frame is not recommended or note on the patient's record that we are not responsible. Many of our seg hts are changed in the lab. If the tracer shows the ht "should be" something else it is changed and not always noted on the record. Is everyone's nose shaped like that generic "bridge"? Frames sit differently on people we all know this. He wants to give a a course on seg ht measuring. Are you kidding? I have been measuring segs for 30 years. Has anyone else ever heard of such a thing or is it a control issue here?

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    Quote Originally Posted by cocoisland58 View Post
    is it a control issue here?
    Either that or stupidity.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I had a similar issue come up when the boss wanted to send us all to a training on measuring segs. I pulled up the handy remake reasons report and discovered that out of 63 remakes in the previous 10 months, 3 were bad measurements, 60 were Rx errors (OD=boss). Oddly enough, we never made it to that training...

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Has there been a wave of redo issues concerning heights? Has the "manager" recently gone to a CE class about progressives, or troubleshooting? New manager? NitWit?

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Gold Supporter Judy Canty's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician