Thread: Tints

Occupation
    Optometrist

Tints

I'm thinking about doing some in-house tinting.
    We actually have a 6-pot tinter that we haven't used. It came with the office when I bought it.

Is there any real difference in the tints that different vendors carry?
    I know BPI is very popular... but I noticed Vigor is alot less expensive.

And in terms of color...

I noticed that these vendors offer a "black" tint and a "grey" tint....

Which would you advise? When we order tinted lenses from the lab, we always order "grey." Would the "black" tint be preferred?

Also, is there a preferred UV coat?

Thanks beforehand for your responses guys. I'm still a newbie in terms of the optical world.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I use packet tints from Phantom research in California. Don't have the info at home, but can post it tomorrow. I use black, instead of grey. I tint very little, as I sell about 95% polorized. I do some cosmetic tinting, but not much. I do the solids and the easy ones, custom tints, match demos go out. One man office, takes too much time.

Manuf. Lens Surface Treatments
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Blue Jumper

Quote Originally Posted by DrNeyecare View Post
    We actually have a 6-pot tinter that we haven't used. It came with the office when I bought it.

I know BPI is vey popular... but I noticed Vigor is alot less expensive.
    In house tinting is very profitable and if you have the equipment you should used it.

However you will Harv e to make sure that your tinting unit is well ventilated with a hood above it that draw as all the toxic fumes to the outside and into fresh air. If your office is located in a central air conditioned building make sure the fumes are directed outside and not recirculated in the building.

Read on
    Hundreds of thousands of Optical Stores and Optical Labs endanger employees health by emitting toxic fumes inside their locations world wide.