Thread: computer glasses? help!!

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

computer glasses? help!!

ok can anyone shead light on the Gradal RD lens. in my office we rarely use it but it is called upon. how is it measured? is it even good? is there any other no line type lens that is better to use? i have very little knowledge on this lens or even how to dispense it and what verbage to use with patients. i feel akward when the dr asks me to put a pt in it because i always have to wing it conversation wise. Please help fellow optiboarders!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

many thanks

Optical Clairvoyant OptiBoard Bronze Supporter Andrew Weiss's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Until Darryl gives you the REAL answer, here's mine ;)

I've used the RD with patients for many years. It's one of the oldest of the "occupational progressives". It is an "office" lens, not a "computer" lens, meaning it is designed to give the patient an effective range from about 16'' out to about 10'. "Computer" progressives, such as the Zeiss Business and Shamir Office, have an effective range of about 16" out to 4-6'. On all of these lenses, within their effective ranges, the fields are all wider and longer than a normal progressive. I've found the Zeiss RD in particular to be a very effective lens if it's fit properly.

The lens is fit with the fitting cross at center pupil, meaning the patient is looking through the upper portion of the intermediate zone. The minimum fitting height is 25mm. I have fussed with moving the fitting cross up or down to accomidate patients whose computer monitors are higher or lower than "normal".

When ordering the lenses, give the lab the patient's normal distance Rx and add and ask them to transpose the powers for the RD. As I understand it, the transposition consists of shaving 0.50 diopters from the add and adding it to the distance Rx. So a +1.00 Add 2.00 in an RD would neutralize as +1.50 Add 1.50.