Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Own surfacing lab?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Own surfacing lab?

There is always talk on here about getting into lens finishing, whats the best edger, you can save such and such, etc. What about taking the next step and opening up your own surfacing lab? I know that it takes more money, more space, more labor, but what are your thoughts? How much more do you really need to invest. You need an generator, finer, polisher, blocker, etc, and the consumables. I know there are those that will speak for and against, lets hear it.

Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    Hey Fezz you should give Paul King a ring. He did all sorts of consulting on this and has a pretty good critera as to howto budget and what not.

Banned
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Man, I'm a novice here, but I know an LC doesn't see a return on their lab for years. I don't even think in-house edging is worth it when you look at labor, etc, unless you're doing serious volume. For surfacing, you'd either have to be talking really serious volume, or acting as a lab for other locations (whether your own or someone elses). Remember, once you're the lab you're also responsible for warranty.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I am not looking into doing it at my office. I have worked in labs, I know the problems. If you review some of my previous post on in house edging, I am sorta not that hip on it. I make the most money for our office when I am on the dispensing floor. I do some in house, but not much. I am too busy, and feel I am more valuable tending to patients needs and wants.

I am just curious as to what others thoughts and feelings are.

But, this old nogging and gears of mine are always running. I have plenty of optical ideas in the works. ;)

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Overriding considerations